Go Back   Sportbike Addicts | Two Wheels... Our Drug of Choice > General > Got Gear?
FAQ Members List Member Gallery Calendar Today's Posts Donate

Reasons why gear is important
Old 08-03-2006, 09:47 AM   #1
Bobby
Squid

Default Reasons why gear is important

This has been a very hot topic among riders and there's no definitive answer. I thought I'd start a thread about it and would really like to hear both sides of the arguement.

*This is a discussion so don't take comments too personal and please don't flame others for their views.

I'll start with my general rules of thumb:

- Any time I go for a spirited group ride, I will always wear full leathers.
- If I don't go out in full gear, I always wear a lid, jacket, gloves and boots.
- If it's too hot for gear, I don't ride.

I usually ride in full gear 98% of the time. The times I wear jeans is when I'm putting around town. I do this because I'm very aware of the consequences and I've been riding for about 23 yrs. I usually try to educate new riders about the benefits of gear and why they should wear it and I try to be a good example of it by wearing it myself.

There's also another reason for full gear on group rides. There are times where the pace might be over your head and you try to keep up. I know everyone will tell you that you should ride your own ride but some of the younger riders get red-mist and think they have more talent than they really do. Your chances of going down might be greater in a group if you don't have self-constraint. This is something you have to decide for yourself after you put your ego aside.