Sportbike Addicts | Two Wheels... Our Drug of Choice

Sportbike Addicts | Two Wheels... Our Drug of Choice (http://sportbikeaddicts.com/forums/index.php)
-   General Bike Talk (http://sportbikeaddicts.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   How often... (http://sportbikeaddicts.com/forums/showthread.php?t=149)

Mack 05-29-2005 01:01 PM

How often...

how often does everyone change thier oil....I was changing my every 2500 miles and the aprilia dealer actually said that I should be by the book and do it every 4500 miles......what do you guys think? I run motul semi synthetic (can't run full becuase of my slipper clutch) and just wanted to get everyones opinion on the matter.

jcblitz 05-29-2005 03:36 PM

2000 on the dot, HP4. I can't attest to if it's worth it or not because I'm not a mechanic, but it makes me sleep at night.

Cakes206 05-29-2005 08:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jcblitz
2000 on the dot, HP4. I can't attest to if it's worth it or not because I'm not a mechanic, but it makes me sleep at night.

Every 1500mi.

+1 on the HP4...just make sure it's the one WITHOUT Moly.

Qetesh 05-29-2005 09:19 PM

I've been bad about changing the oil on my street bike at regular intervals :bigblush:

I just had it done last weekend after a few thousand street miles and 5 trackdays :bigblush: I thought Nick at Moto-Insanity was gonna kill me. Once it was dumped in to the pan I took a look at it. Pretty much a big puddle of tar :banghead: Won't let that happen again!

From now on, every 1500 miles.

Cakes206 05-29-2005 11:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Qetesh
Won't let that happen again!

From now on, every 1500 miles.

You got that right :squid:

JasonB 05-30-2005 04:10 AM

i change mind about every 2500 to 3000 and change the filter every other oil change. I used Amsoil, have that mobil super syn in there now, but will be changing it soon.

HondaGalToo 05-30-2005 07:50 AM