PDA

View Full Version : Need some opinions/Advice

Mack
09-26-2006, 08:26 AM
Ok as many of you know me and my aprilia took a beating on Sunday and I'm pretty sure I've decided to make a change for my track bike. I would like some advice from everyone as to what they would recommend for a track bike. Keep in mind I have been riding a twin for 3 years and love it. I don't think I can go down to a 600 I think I'll miss the torque. Right now I'm leaning towards either a CBR1000RR or a GSXR 1000. Also if you have any recommendations as to where to pick up a track ready version of one of these bikes or a salvage titled bike please let me know. I think the Aprilia is being turned into my daily street rider for next year. At least that's that way things are looking right now. Advice/input would be greatly appreciated. THANKS

RCM78
09-26-2006, 08:43 AM
Finding a salvaged 1000 will be tough. They dont last more then an hour in most salvage yards. Call leeseville salvage in rahway and let them know what you want. You may get lucky.

I would still suggest a 600 though. I went from a superhawk to a 600F3 and the F3 was easier to ride fast. Todays 600's are easily better then the aprilia and they are much more forgiving then a 1000...

Lakota
09-26-2006, 08:47 AM
I also run an F3 now and love it,but one thing to keep in mind if looking for a GSXR 1K,we have had 7 of them split or break frames from the front welds in the CMRA in the last 3 races.although not out there formally the 05/06 1Ks do not seem to crash well at all and one broke when landing hard off a straight called wheelie hill and looked like a low riding chopper after that.Good luck in your search

NYCSTRIPES
09-26-2006, 09:31 AM
I suggest running an SV, you may find is a much cheaper alternative for a track bike and still maintain the features and feel of a twin.
Ken

CBRBob
09-26-2006, 10:18 AM